Back to All Events

2018 East Tennessee Writers Hall of Fame

  • Club Leconte 800 South Gay Street, 27th Floor, Knoxville, TN 37929 (map)
HOF 2018 logo.jpg

Friends of Literacy is currently seeking nominations for the East Tennessee Writer’s Hall of Fame. We realize how important the written word is to our culture and history. For the 15th year, Friends of Literacy honors those who entertain, inspire, and inform us through their writing. Nominations are being accepted in eight categories: lifetime achievement, fiction, non-fiction, poetry, social media, songwriting, drama, and children's literature. An independent panel of judges will evaluate nominees based on recognition within the field, longevity, quality, and volume of work. All nominees must have been born in, currently reside in, or have a body of work related to the East Tennessee region. 

If you would like to nominate a writer, please complete the form and submit to Friends of Literacy by July 9th. Winners will be honored at an awards ceremony on Friday, October 5, 2018, at Club LeConte in Knoxville, TN. Past Hall of Fame inductees include Cormac McCarthy, Mary Bozeman Hodges, Nikki Giovanni, Marilyn Kallet, Jon Jefferson, Ina Hughs, Carson Brewer, Sam Venable, Wilma Dykeman, Cynthia Moxley, Jim Dykes and Jack Neely. 

More information on ticket sales and sponsorship opportunities will be available soon.


Photo: "Books HD" by Abhi Sharma is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Earlier Event: March 2
Bachelor Auction
Later Event: October 16
Create a Handmade Glass Pumpkin