Back to All Events

2017 East Tennessee Writers Hall of Fame: Seeking Nominations



Seeking Nominations

Friends of Literacy is currently seeking nominations for induction into the East Tennessee Writer’s Hall of Fame. FOL realizes how important an author’s contributions are to our culture and history and for the 14th year, we wish to honor those who entertain, inspire, and inform us through the written word. Nominations are being sought for five categories: lifetime achievement, fiction, non-fiction, poetry and social media. An independent panel of judges will evaluate the nominees based on recognition within the writer’s field, longevity, quality, and volume of work. All nominees must have either been born in, currently reside in, or have a body of work related to the East Tennessee region.  

If you would like to nominate an author, please click here to download the nomination form. Nominations are due July 7th. Winners will be honored at an awards ceremony on Thursday, October 19, 2017, at the Lighthouse Knoxville. Past Hall of Fame inductees include Cormac McCarthy, Mary Bozeman Hodges, Nikki Giovanni, Marilyn Kallet, Jon Jefferson, Ina Hughs, Carson Brewer, James Agee, Sam Venable, Wilma Dykeman, Cynthia Moxley, Jim Dykes and Jack Neely. Click here to see the full list of Hall of Fame inductees.

For more information, contact Melissa Nance at

Also, stay tuned to this page. We'll be posting more details and opening online ticket sales as we get closer to the event.

Become a Sponsor

For more information about being a Sponsor of the East Tennessee Writers Hall of Fame please contact 

Photo: "Books HD" by Abhi Sharma is licensed under CC BY 2.0