Seeking Nominations for the 2013 Hall of Fame


Friends of Literacy (FOL) is currently seeking nominations for induction into the East Tennessee Writer’s Hall of Fame. FOL realizes how important an author’s contributions are to our culture and history and for the 10th year, we wish to honor those who entertain, inspire, and inform us through the written word.  Nominations are being sought for five categories: lifetime achievement, fiction, non-fiction, poetry and social media. An independent panel of judges will evaluate the nominees based on recognition within the writer’s field, longevity, quality, and volume of work. All nominees must have either been born in, currently reside in, or have a body of work related to the East Tennessee region.  

If you would like to nominate an author, please click here to download the nomination form. Nominations are due August 2nd.  Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on Thursday, October 10, 2013, at the Crowne Plaza.  Past Hall of Fame inductees include Cormac McCarthy, Mary Bozeman Hodges, Nikki Giovanni, Marilyn Kallet, Jon Jefferson, Ina Hughs, Carson Brewer, James Agee, Sam Venable, Wilma Dykeman, Cynthia Moxley, Jim Dykes and Jack Neely.

The mission of Friends of Literacy is to support the delivery of free high quality literacy programs and related services to adults in Knox County who are inadequately educated to meet the challenges of daily life.  Working in partnership with area literacy organizations, our goal is to help provide basic education and life-skill training so that our students become better workers, parents, and citizens. Our community outreach includes student recruitment, referral, and advocacy, as well as recruitment and training of volunteer tutors.

For more information, please contact Melissa Nance, Executive Director, at

Lia BallentineComment