East Tennessee Writers Hall of Fame

Friends of Literacy (FOL) is currently seeking nominations for induction into the East Tennessee Writer’s Hall of Fame. FOL realizes how important an author’s contributions are to our culture and history and for the 8thyear, we wish to honor those who entertain, inspire, and inform us through the written word.

Nominations are being sought for five categories: lifetime achievement, fiction, non-fiction, poetry and social media. An independent panel of judges will evaluate the nominees based on recognition within the writer’s field, longevity, quality, and volume of work. All nominees must have either been born in, currently reside in, or have a body of work related to the East Tennessee region. Past Hall of Fame inductees include Cormac McCarthy, Mary Bozeman Hodges, Nikki Giovanni, Marilyn Kallet, Jon Jefferson, Ina Hughes, Carson Brewer, James Agee, Sam Venable, Wilma Dykeman, Cynthia Moxley and Jack Neely.

If you would like to nominate an author, please complete the nomination form and return via email, fax or mail to the attention of Melissa Nance, Executive Director, Friends of Literacy. A complete list of past inductees is included in the link to the nomination form. Nominations are due August 2nd. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in October at the Crowne Plaza. You can preview and download the 2011 nomination form below.