Purchase tickets today for the 7th Annual East Tennessee Writers Hall of Fame!

The 7th Annual East Tennessee Writers Hall of Fame will take place Thursday, September 23, at the Crowne Plaza hotel in downtown Knoxville. The event begins at 7 p.m., and our special guest speaker is writer and director Michael Minor, who is best known for creating "Robocop," which won the 1987 Saturn Award for Best Science Fiction Screenplay.

This years inductees into the East Tennessee Writers Hall of Fame are Loletta Clouse for Fiction, Edward Francisco for poetry, Alex Haley for the Lifetime Achievement Award, Cynthia Moxley for Social Media, and Bruce Wheeler for non-fiction. Past Hall of Fame inductees include Cormac McCarthy, Mary Bozeman Hodges, Nikki Giovanni, Marilyn Kallet, Jon Jefferson, Ina Hughes, Carson Brewer, James Agee, Sam Venable, Wilma Dykeman and Jack Neely.

If you would like to purchase tickets, please call Friends of Literacy at (865) 594-1507. We take both Visa and Master Card, or you may choose to mail a check to 101 E. Fifth Ave, Suite 217, Knoxville, TN 37917. Or you may purchase your ticket online by using the "Buy Now" PayPal button below. (Please note that a $3 handling fee has been added to the price of tickets purchased via PayPal.)

The mission of Friends of Literacy is to support the delivery of free high quality literacy programs and related services to adults in Knox County who are inadequately educated to meet the challenges of daily life. Working in partnership with area literacy organizations, our goal is to help provide basic education and life-skill training so that our students become better workers, parents, and citizens. Our community outreach includes student recruitment, referral, and advocacy, as well as recruitment and training of volunteer tutors.

Click the "Buy Now" button to purchase tickets to the 2010 East Tennessee Writers Hall of Fame.